Answers to the question why no medical technology company today can do without an MES (Manufacturing Execution System).

What's the starting position?

Over the past 25 years, health authorities, hospitals and physicians, as well as patients themselves, have increasingly focused on the complete documentation and Traceability of customer complaints and patient claims. In the same period, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) continuously expanded its regulatory requirements, systematically raising market entry barriers in the U.S. healthcare market for manufacturers of medical devices. With 16.6% of all exports, the USA is by far the largest export market worldwide for German companies. Now that Europe has also followed suit with the introduction of the new MDR (Medical Device Regulation) and the revised DIN ISO 13485:2016, companies in the field of medical technology are facing various challenges.

In times of globalization and global competition, two areas are particularly important. In addition to the constantly increasing regulatory requirements, it is above all the international competitive pressure to which companies in the German-speaking countries have been increasingly exposed in recent years. Digitization will be an important instrument for securing the future. The medical technology industry is very heterogeneous with many medium-sized and only a few large companies. For small and medium-sized companies, which are rather worse off financially, it is important to make the right investment decisions in the course of digitization.

In recent years, companies have focused primarily on processing the high order situation and adapting to new regulatory conditions, but now the focus is shifting towards digitization. But what is the digitization status of German SMEs?

In production, Access databases, Unix applications and Excel tables are still used as electronic solutions as instruments for process control and documentation of the product creation file. In most cases, documentation is also done on paper. In the process, handwritten notes and improvements are repeatedly found on the printed operating orders - a common practice that does not comply with the regulatory requirements. The archiving of paper-based product creation files is carried out internally or externally in fireproof filing cabinets. In the case of faulty batches or complaints, a time-consuming search process begins in order to find the right documents and identify affected predecessors or successors.

Customer inquiries about delivery dates can only be answered imprecisely and with great effort, as the order management does not contain any current information on the status of production. Deviations from the time schedule are therefore not recognizable.

Even non-validated ERP systems are often used for data acquisition and transmission of quality-relevant information. In addition, data records for products are maintained in different software systems without a comparison taking place between them. A holistic, company-wide approach of CSV (Computer System Validation) is usually completely lacking.

Why capture digitally when paper works?

While paper is available at all times without technical aids, the digital company is dependent on external factors: How dependent are work processes on fast and stable Internet access?

What happens,

  • if the net goes down,
  • in the event of a power failure or even
  • in a crash of the system?

These factors should be carefully considered before any decision is taken. However, it is questionable to what extent companies can escape digitization in the long term without significantly weakening their market position. The selection of software manufacturers is particularly important here, because only those who have answers to the risks of digitization can be seen as a reliable partner.

Nowadays, every company needs a digitization strategy in order to survive in the fiercely contested competition of the future. In the long run, transparency in production, and thus production optimization, can only be achieved through digital processes, because otherwise no real-time data is available. A PDA system (production data acquisition) within the MES is therefore indispensable at this point.

If companies produce at different locations, this point is even more important for planning activities.

What are the advantages of a Manufacturing Execution System?

According to a study by the Fraunhofer IAO, companies are showing a clear trend towards the future use of digital assistance systems in manufacturing and assembly. Why? Quite simply, there is a lack of stationary workstations where up-to-date information can be provided on an ongoing basis. In addition, digital assistance systems can minimize waiting times and walking distances in these areas. All this leads to precisely fitting, functional workplaces and ultimately to greater efficiency. The systems that provide this information on the shop floor and pass on the collected data are called MES.

ERP is the leading system in the process flow between ERP and MES. Because the basis of an MES is usually the information from the ERP. These include order data such as type and quantity as well as material availability. This information is used for rough planning in the ERP system. This means that although orders are assigned to shifts, they are not assigned to a production time that is exact in time. Machine groups are assigned in the same way, but no specific individual machine. The allocation of concrete resources takes place in the second step of the so-called detailed planning.

Some ERP systems support detailed planning. Orders are split into work processes, machines and personnel are assigned and scheduled for an exact time in production.

The online monitoring by PDC recording and evaluation of the production results in relevant data, which are fed back to the ERP.

In this way, a control loop is created in which two systems for information acquisition and process optimization are optimally integrated.

With the help of KPIs (Key Performance Indicators), the progress and degree of fulfillment of production targets as well as critical success factors can be transparently evaluated.

These KPI indicators include, among others:

  • Processing times
  • Adherence to delivery dates, for example for a single work center
  • Machine utilization, to evaluate capacity reserves
  • Production and downtimes
  • Setup grade
  • Reject rate
  • Process efficiency (OEE Overall Equipment Effectiveness)

With the introduction of an MES, continuous transparency from incoming orders to invoicing is achieved, including the entire production process. In this way you can improve the reaction speed, adherence to delivery dates, profitability and ultimately also the competitiveness of your company.

What functions does an MES solution for medical technology have to offer?

In contrast to other industries, a meaningful MES solution in medical technology must be able to meet some regulatory requirements. These include the subject of traceability, compliance with FDA Act 21 CFR Part 11 on the use of Electronic Records / Electronic Signatures and the provision of a product creation file. Further functions of a MES are:

  • Order management for splitting orders into work processes and adding current production information to order data.
  • Detailed planning for the distribution of orders to the machines according to your production targets and process flows.
  • Equipment management to ensure the technical functionality and availability of your plants and machines.
  • Personnel management for the planning of production personnel, taking qualification and availability into account.
  • Data acquisition for event-controlled acquisition of production-relevant data, such as machine data (MDE), operating data (BDE), process data, quality data and personnel data.
  • Production monitoring for real-time monitoring of your production: How far is which order? Which machines are at a standstill? Where do bottlenecks arise?
  • Quality management to ensure product and process quality right from the start.
  • Performance analyses for a comprehensive evaluation of the production system on the basis of concrete key production figures.
  • Software validation according to GAMP 5 or IEC 62304
  • Electronic Records / Electronic Signatures according to FDA specification 21 CFR Part 11
  • Generation of an eDHR (electronic Device History Record) for batches or individual products

Why does not every system comply with VDI standard 5600?

However, not all MES solutions are the same. There are more than 180 providers of such systems in Germany. Most of them come from mechanical or electrical engineering. As a rule, they meet the requirement profiles defined by VDMA data sheet 66412-1 or VDI data sheet 5600, but do not take into account the medical technology-specific regulations for software systems in production.

One example is energy management. It is certainly an important module in the process industry, but plays a subordinate role at assembly stations in medical technology. In contrast, safe process control is all the more important and must be adaptable for every company. Other functions can be mentioned that are specifically required only by certain industries. Paperless production documentation in medical technology can only be implemented with a 21 CFR Part 11-compliant software system ; other industries do not have to take this into account.

In recent years, a real specialization of MES solutions has taken place in areas such as automotive, medical technology, pharmaceuticals, mechanical engineering, etc., and this specialization seems to be increasing further. Regulatory reasons in particular are a catalyst here.

Wird der regulatorische Druck im Bereich Medizintechnik auf Software Systeme in Zukunft größer?

The innovations in the regulated sector and the ever-increasing competitive pressure are creating the need for constant adjustments. Changes and innovations have an impact above all on the production sector. To achieve this, it is essential to maintain a quality management system as required by DIN ISO 13485:2016. Just how relevant the topic of software validation and production documentation already is in medical technology companies today is shown by an overview of the most frequent "observations" of the FDA during their inspections in 2016/2017:

483-Observations

2016

2017

CAPAs (21 CFR Part 820.100)

443

522

Reklamationen (21 CFR Part 820.198)

409

437

DHR/DMR/CSV (21 CFR Part 820.181/184/70i)

244

253

Fehlerhafte Produkte (21 CFR Part 820.90)

202

209

Prozessvalidierung (21 CFR Part 820.75)

172

173

Table: FDA "Observations" during inspections in 2016/2017 from the annual FDA Report

 

The number of "observations" in the Device History Records (DHR)/Device Master Records (DMR) area shows that many companies have gaps in the legally compliant presentation of their production processes, including traceability.

Many companies were not aware that Computer System Validation (CSV) is also affected in relation to all software systems in the company. All quality-relevant software systems must be fully validated.

In connection with the establishment of the EUDAMED (European Database for Medical Devices), even Class 1 products must in future be provided with a UDI (Unique Device Identification) and made publicly accessible in the database.

Other topics such as cloud computing, data integrity and Long term archiving are also part of digitisation and must be integrated into the overall strategy of the IT organization.

The situation is also changing for SMEs (small and medium-sized enterprises), which have so far not appeared as OEM manufacturers (original equipment manufacturers) within the meaning of the MDR regulations. Even though there are still different interpretations of the new MDR, it seems clear that the OEMs are responsible for the technical documentation and must at least make it available to the notified bodies of the PLM (Private Label Manufacturer).

Can employees even operate tablets?

Regulations are an obstacle to digitalization. Another "blocker" is the usual documentation on paper and the fear of switching to electronic processes. Today, documentation in the production of many small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) is still largely paper-based. Order cards, test reports or also construction drawings are available in printed form and production orders are enclosed. If at all, the content is digitised in a subsequent, additional step.

The use of mobile end devices can considerably improve this data acquisition and thus provide a basis for a comprehensive use of relevant data in the production. In particular, the comparatively low investment costs for hardware are to be emphasized for manufacturing SMEs. In addition, most employees are already used to dealing with a large number of different end devices from their private lives, so that the introduction is usually quick. Intuitive and simple operation ensures short familiarization times, acceptance by employees and rapid information gain in everyday production.

The fact that the employees support the digital transformation is an essential prerequisite for their success. Unfortunately, there are often worries and reservations here: Many employees fear being left behind by the changes.

It is therefore extremely important to openly explain the opportunities and risks of digital transformation and to take employee concerns seriously. Address existing concerns openly and demonstrate the benefits of digital transformation to employees so that they actively drive change. Experience shows that once digital data capture is in place, no employee will want to do without it because it makes their job easier.

Will digitalization make my IT more vulnerable to hackers?

Digitization often goes hand in hand with networking. New interfaces are often created. And thus potential attack surfaces for hackers. Cybercrime has been on the rise for years.

In order to counter the risks associated with the digitalisation of one's own company, an individual risk analysis should be carried out at the outset. What data is available? What does the IT infrastructure look like? What happens if data is deleted or damaged? How expensive can a successful cyber attack be for the company? It is advisable for every company to include protection and security measures in its digitization processes from the outset. If processes are already designed according to the individually necessary security aspects, expensive subsequent adjustments or necessary changes can also be avoided. Successful digitisation and IT security should go hand in hand, or as the IT Security Management Report of the Federal Office for Information Security (BSI) puts it: Information security is the prerequisite for successful digitisation.

What does the future hold?

Waiting is not an option: according to a study by IMD Business School and CISCO Consulting Services, 40 percent of companies will find themselves in a changed competitive environment in 2023.

From this it can be concluded that many companies will be concerned about their own existence in the future if they ignore the topic of digitisation.

This means that the question is not "whether" but "when" a regulatory correct MES solution should be introduced into production. The most important prerequisite is a corporate culture in which all employees are convinced of such a project. The long-term existence of SMEs in particular will depend on the intelligent use of the diverse IT offerings.

In the future, a production order triggered by the customer could independently steer itself through the value chain. It reserves processing steps, plants and materials and automatically controls execution. It recognizes impending delivery delays, organizes additional capacities as far as possible and reports unavoidable delays directly to the relevant customer. The production systems used exchange drawings with each other and organize their order sequence in the same way as maintenance and repair requirements with each other. If this vision becomes reality, we are talking about industry 4.0. Even though many SMEs still have a long way to go here, the first step must be taken if they are to have any chance of achieving the goal.

en_US
de_DE_formal en_US

Antworten zur Frage, warum heute kein Unternehmen der Medizintechnik mehr auf ein MES (Manufacturing Exekution System) verzichten kann.

Wie ist die Ausgangslage?

In den vergangenen 25 Jahren haben sowohl Gesundheitsbehörden, Krankenhäuser und Ärzte als auch die Patienten selbst ihr Augenmerk verstärkt auf die lückenlose Dokumentation und Rückverfolgbarkeit von Kundenbeschwerden und Patientenansprüchen gelegt. Im gleichen Zeitraum hat die amerikanische Gesundheitsbehörde FDA ihre regulatorischen Anforderungen kontinuierlich ausgeweitet und so die Markteintrittsbarrieren in den amerikanischen Gesundheitsmarkt für Hersteller von Medizintechnik systematisch erhöht. Für deutsche Unternehmen ist die USA mit 16,6% aller Exporte der mit Abstand größte Exportmarkt weltweit. Nachdem nun auch Europa mit der Einführung der neuen MDR (Medical Device Regulation) und der überarbeiteten DIN ISO 13485:2016 nachgezogen hat, sehen sich Firmen im Medizintechnik Umfeld mit verschiedenen Herausforderungen konfrontiert.

In Zeiten der Globalisierung und des weltweiten Wettbewerbs treten dabei vor allem zwei Bereiche in den Vordergrund. Neben den stetig steigenden regulatorischen Anforderungen, ist es vor allem der internationale Wettbewerbsdruck, dem Firmen im deutschsprachigen Raum in den letzten Jahren immer stärker ausgesetzt sind. Ein wichtiges Instrument der Zukunftssicherung wird dabei die Digitalisierung sein. Dabei ist die Medizintechnikbranche mit vielen mittelständischen und nur wenigen großen Unternehmen sehr heterogen aufgestellt. Für den finanziell eher schlechter aufgestellten Mittelstand gilt es, die richtigen Investitionsentscheidungen im Zuge der Digitalisierung zu treffen.

Ging es den Unternehmen in den letzten Jahren vor allem um die Abarbeitung der hohen Auftragslage und die Anpassung an neue regulatorische Rahmenbedingungen rückt nun der Focus in Richtung Digitalisierung. Doch wie ist überhaupt der Digitalisierungsstand bei deutschen KMU?

In der Produktion werden als elektronische Lösungen nach wie vor Access-Datenbanken, Unix-Anwendungen und Excel-Tabellen als Instrumente zur Prozesssteuerung und Dokumentation der Produktentstehungsakte verwendet. Meistens wird auch noch in Papier dokumentiert. Dabei finden sich auf den ausgedruckten Betriebsaufträgen immer wieder handschriftliche Vermerke und Verbesserungen – eine gängige Praxis, die nicht den regulatorischen Anforderungen entspricht. Die Archivierung der papierbasierenden Produktentstehungsakten wird in feuerfesten Aktenschränken intern oder extern vorgenommen. Bei fehlerhaften Chargen oder Reklamationen beginnt ein zeitaufwändiger Suchprozess, um die richtigen Dokumente zu finden und betroffene Vorgänger oder Nachfolger zu identifizieren.

Kundenanfragen zu Lieferterminen können nur ungenau und mit viel Aufwand beantwortet werden, da sich in der Auftragsverwaltung keine aktuellen Informationen zum Status der Produktion befinden. Abweichungen von der Zeitplanung sind daher nicht erkennbar.

Auch nicht validierte ERP-Systeme werden oft zur Datenerfassung und Übertragung von qualitätsrelevanten Informationen benutzt. Zusätzlich werden Datensätze zu Produkten in unterschiedlichen Software Systemen gepflegt, ohne dass zwischen ihnen ein Abgleich stattfindet. Ein ganzheitlicher, unternehmensweiter Ansatz der CSV (Computer System Validierung) fehlt meist vollkommen.

Warum digital erfassen, wenn Papier auch funktioniert?

Während Papier jederzeit ohne technische Hilfsmittel zur Verfügung steht, ist das digitale Unternehmen von externen Einflussfaktoren abhängig: Wie abhängig sind die Arbeitsprozesse von einem schnellen und stabilen Internetzugang?

Was passiert,

  • wenn das Netz ausfällt,
  • bei einem Stromausfall oder gar
  • bei einem Crash des Systems?

Diese Faktoren sollten vor einer Entscheidung unbedingt gründlich bedacht werden. Es ist allerdings fraglich, inwieweit Unternehmen sich langfristig der Digitalisierung entziehen können ohne ihre Marktposition entscheidend zu schwächen. Wichtig erscheint hier vor allem die Auswahl der Software Hersteller, denn nur wer auch Antworten zu den Risiken der Digitalisierung parat hält, kann als verlässlicher Partner gesehen werden.

Jedes Unternehmen benötigt heutzutage eine Digitalisierungsstrategie, um im hart umkämpften Wettbewerb auch zukünftig bestehen zu können. Eine Transparenz in der Produktion, und damit eine Fertigungsoptimierung, ist auf Dauer nur durch digitale Prozesse zu erreichen, weil anders keine Echtzeitdaten verfügbar sind. Ein BDE-System (Betriebsdatenerfassung) innerhalb des MES ist also an dieser Stelle unabdingbar.

Sofern Unternehmen an unterschiedlichen Standorten produzieren, ist dieser Punkt für die Planungsaktivitäten von noch größerer Wichtigkeit.

Welche Vorteile bietet ein Manufacturing Exekution System?

Laut einer Studie vom Fraunhofer IAO zeigen Unternehmen eine deutliche Tendenz zum zukünftigen Einsatz digitaler Assistenzsysteme in den Bereichen Fertigung und Montage. Warum? Ganz einfach: Dort fehlt es an stationären Arbeitsplätzen, an denen laufend aktuelle Informationen bereitgestellt werden können. Außerdem können digitale Assistenzsysteme die Wartezeiten und Laufwege in diesen Bereichen minimieren. Das alles führt zu passgenauen, funktionalen Arbeitsplätzen und letztendlich zu mehr Effizienz. Die Systeme, die diese Informationen am Shop-Floor bereitstellen und die erfassten Daten weitergeben nennt man MES.

Im Prozessablauf zwischen ERP und MES ist das ERP das führende System. Denn Grundlage eines MES sind in der Regel die Informationen aus dem ERP. Zu ihnen gehören Auftragsdaten, wie Art und Menge sowie die Materialverfügbarkeit. Mit diesen Informationen erfolgt im ERP-System die Grobplanung. Das heißt, Aufträge werden zwar Schichten, aber keinem uhrzeitgenauen Fertigungszeitpunkt zugeordnet. Genauso werden Maschinengruppen zugewiesen, aber keine bestimmte Einzelmaschine. Die Zuordnung der konkreten Ressourcen erfolgt im zweiten Schritt bei der sogenannten Feinplanung.

Einige ERP-Systeme unterstützen mitunter die Feinplanung. Aufträge werden in Arbeitsgänge gesplittet, Maschinen und Personal zugeordnet und für einen genauen Zeitpunkt in der Produktion eingeplant.

Aus der Online-Überwachung durch eine BDE-Erfassung und Bewertung der Produktion entstehen wiederum relevante Daten, die an das ERP zurückgespielt werden.

Auf diese Weise entsteht ein Regelkreis, in den gleich zwei Systeme zur Informationsgewinnung und Prozessoptimierung optimal integriert sind.

Mit Hilfe von KPIs (Key Performance Indicators) lassen sich Fortschritt und Erfüllungsgrad von Produktionszielen sowie kritische Erfolgsfaktoren transparent bewerten.

Zu diesen KPI-Kennzahlen gehören unter anderem:

  • Durchlaufzeiten
  • Termintreue, beispielsweise eines einzelnen Arbeitsplatzes
  • Maschinenauslastung, zur Bewertung von Kapazitätsreserven
  • Produktions- und Stillstandszeiten
  • Rüstgrad
  • Ausschussquote
  • Prozesseffizienz (OEE Overall Equipment Effectiveness)

Mit der Einführung eines MES wird eine durchgängige Transparenz vom Auftragseingang bis zur Rechnungsstellung unter Einbezug des gesamten Fertigungsprozesses realisiert. So lassen sich entsprechend Reaktionsgeschwindigkeit, Termintreue, Wirtschaftlichkeit und letztendlich auch die Konkurrenzfähigkeit Ihres Unternehmens verbessern.

Welche Funktionen muss eine MES-Lösung für die Medizintechnik bieten?

Eine sinnvolle MES-Lösung in der Medizintechnik muss im Gegensatz zu anderen Branchen einige regulatorische Bedingungen erfüllen können. Dazu zählen u.a. das Thema Rückverfolgbarkeit, Erfüllung des FDA Gesetzes 21 CFR Part 11 bei der Nutzung von Electronic Records / Electronic Signatures und die Bereitstellung einer Produktentstehungsakte. Weitere Funktionen eines MES sind:

  • Auftragsmanagement für die Aufsplittung von Aufträgen in Arbeitsgänge und Ergänzung der Auftragsdaten um aktuelle Fertigungsinformationen.
  • Feinplanung für die Verteilung der Aufträge an die Maschinen entsprechend Ihrer Produktionsziele und Prozessabläufe.
  • Betriebsmittelmanagement zur Sicherstellung der technischen Funktionsfähigkeit und Verfügbarkeit Ihrer Anlagen und Maschinen.
  • Personalmanagement zur Einplanung des Fertigungspersonals unter Berücksichtigung von Qualifikation und Verfügbarkeit.
  • Datenerfassung für die ereignisgesteuerte Erfassung der produktionsrelevanten Daten, wie Maschinendaten (MDE), Betriebsdaten (BDE), Prozessdaten, Qualitätsdaten und Personaldaten.
  • Fertigungsmonitoring für die Echtzeitüberwachung Ihrer Fertigung: Wie weit ist welcher Auftrag? Welche Maschinen stehen still? Wo entstehen Engpässe?
  • Qualitätsmanagement zur Sicherstellung der Produkt- und Prozessqualität von Anfang an.
  • Leistungsanalysen für eine umfassende Bewertung des Produktionssystems anhand konkreter Produktionskennzahlen.
  • Validierung der Software gemäß GAMP 5 bzw. IEC 62304
  • Electronic Records / Electronic Signatures gemäß FDA Vorgabe 21 CFR Part 11
  • Erzeugung eines eDHR (electronic Device History Record) für Chargen oder Einzelprodukte

Warum erfüllt nicht jedes System die VDI Norm 5600?

MES-Lösung ist jedoch nicht gleich MES-Lösung. Deutschlandweit gibt es mehr als 180 Anbieter solcher Systeme. Die meisten davon stammen aus dem Maschinenbau oder der Elektrotechnik. Sie erfüllen in der Regel die vom VDMA Datenblatt 66412-1 oder VDI Datenblatt 5600 definierten Anforderungsprofile, berücksichtigen aber nicht die Medizintechnik-spezifischen Regularien für Software Systeme in der Produktion.

Als ein Beispiel kann hier das Energiemanagement genannt werden. Es ist sicherlich ein wichtiges Modul im Bereich der Prozessindustrie, spielt aber an Montageplätzen in der Medizintechnik eine eher untergeordnete Rolle. Im Gegensatz dazu ist eine sichere Prozesssteuerung wiederum umso wichtiger und muss sich flexibel für jedes Unternehmen anpassen lassen. Es können weitere Funktionen genannt werden, die speziell nur von gewissen Branchen benötigt werden. Die papierlose Fertigungsdokumentation kann in der Medizintechnik ausschließlich mit einem 21 CFR Part 11 gerechten Softwaresystem realisiert werden, andere Branchen müssen darauf keine Rücksicht nehmen.

In den letzten Jahren hat eine regelrechte Spezialisierung von MES-Lösungen in Bereichen wie Automobil, Medtech, Pharmazie, Maschinenbau, etc. eingesetzt und diese Spezialisierung scheint sich weiter zu verstärken. Vor allem regulatorische Gründe sind hier ein Katalysator.

Wird der regulatorische Druck im Bereich Medizintechnik auf Software Systeme in Zukunft größer?

Durch die Neuerungen im regulierten Bereich und dem immer stärker werdenden Wettbewerbsdruck entsteht die Notwendigkeit von stetigen Anpassungen. Veränderungen und Innovationen wirken sich vor allem auf den Produktionsbereich aus. Hierzu ist das Führen eines Qualitätsmanagement Systems wie in der DIN ISO 13485:2016 gefordert, unabdingbar. Wie relevant bereits heute das Thema Software Validierung und Fertigungsdokumentation in Medizintechnik Unternehmen ist, zeigt eine Übersicht der häufigsten „Observations“ der FDA bei ihren Inspektionen den Jahren 2016/2017:

483-Observations

2016

2017

CAPAs (21 CFR Part 820.100)

443

522

Reklamationen (21 CFR Part 820.198)

409

437

DHR/DMR/CSV (21 CFR Part 820.181/184/70i)

244

253

Fehlerhafte Produkte (21 CFR Part 820.90)

202

209

Prozessvalidierung (21 CFR Part 820.75)

172

173

Tabelle: FDA „Observations“ bei Inspektionen im Jahre 2016/2017 aus dem jährlichen FDA Report

 

Die Anzahl der „Observations“ im Bereich des Device History Records (DHR)/Device Master Records (DMR) zeigt, dass viele Unternehmen Lücken bei der gesetzeskonformen Darstellung ihrer Produktionsabläufe inklusive Rückverfolgbarkeit haben.

Das auch die Computer System Validierung (CSV) bezogen auf alle Software-Systeme im Unternehmen betroffen ist, war vielen Firmen so nicht bewusst. Dabei müssen alle qualitätsrelevanten Software Systeme vollständig validiert sein.

Im Zusammenhang mit der Einrichtung der EUDAMED (Europäische Datenbank für Medizinprodukte) müssen in Zukunft sogar Klasse 1 Produkte mit einem UDI (Unique Device Identification) versehen und in der Datenbank öffentlich zugänglich gemacht werden.

Weitere Themen wie Cloud-Computing, Datenintegrität und Langzeitarchivierung gehören ebenfalls zur Digitalisierung und müssen in die Gesamtstrategie der IT Organisation eingebaut werden.

Auch für KMU (Kleine und Mittelständische Unternehmen), die bisher als OEM Fertiger (Original Equipment Manufacturer) nicht als Hersteller im Sinne der MDR Regularien in Erscheinung getreten sind, ändert sich die Sachlage. Auch wenn es noch unterschiedliche Interpretationen der neuen MDR gibt, scheint dennoch festzustehen, dass die OEM für die technische Dokumentation zuständig sind und diese zumindest den Benannten Stellen des PLM (Private Label Manufacturer) zur Verfügung stellen müssen.

Können Mitarbeiter überhaupt Tablets bedienen?

Regularien sind ein Hemmschuh, der die Digitalisierung behindert. Ein anderer „Blocker“ ist die gewohnte Dokumentation auf Papier und die Angst auf elektronische Prozesse umzusteigen. Heute erfolgt die Dokumentation in der Produktion vieler kleiner und mittlerer Unternehmen (KMU) noch weitestgehend papierbasiert. Auftragskarten, Prüfprotokolle oder auch Konstruktionszeichnungen liegen in ausgedruckter Form vor und werden Produktionsaufträgen beigelegt. Eine Digitalisierung der Inhalte erfolgt, wenn überhaupt, in einem nachgelagerten, zusätzlichen Schritt.

Der Einsatz mobiler Endgeräte kann diese Datenerfassung erheblich verbessern und so eine Grundlage für eine umfassende Nutzung relevanter Daten in der Produktion darstellen. Insbesondere die vergleichsweisen geringen Investitionskosten für die Hardware sind für produzierende KMU hervorzuheben. Die meisten Mitarbeiter sind zudem den Umgang mit einer Vielzahl verschiedener Endgeräte aus dem privaten Alltag bereits gewohnt, so dass auch die Einführung meist schnell geht. Eine intuitive und einfache Bedienbarkeit sichert kurze Einarbeitungszeiten, Akzeptanz bei den Mitarbeitern und schnellen Informationsgewinn im Fertigungsalltag.

Dass die Mitarbeiter die digitale Transformation mittragen, ist eine wesentliche Voraussetzung für ihren Erfolg. Leider bestehen hier oft Sorgen und Vorbehalte: Viele Mitarbeiter befürchten, von den Veränderungen abgehängt zu werden.

Daher ist es extrem wichtig, die Chancen und Risiken der digitalen Transformation offen darzulegen und die Bedenken der Mitarbeiter ernst zu nehmen. Adressieren Sie die bestehenden Bedenken offen und zeigen Sie die Vorteile der digitalen Transformation für die Mitarbeiter auf, so dass diese die Veränderung aktiv vorantreiben. Die Erfahrung zeigt, dass nach der Einführung einer digitalen Datenerfassung kein Mitarbeiter mehr darauf verzichten möchte, weil eine effektive Arbeitserleichterung vorliegt.

Wird meine IT durch Digitalisierung anfälliger für Hacker?

Digitalisierung geht oftmals mit Vernetzung einher. Es entstehen vielfach neue Schnittstellen. Und damit potentielle Angriffsflächen für Hacker. Schon seit Jahren nimmt die Cyberkriminalität zu.

Um den Risiken, die mit der Digitalisierung des eigenen Unternehmens einhergehen, zu begegnen, sollte zu Beginn eine individuelle Risikoanalyse erstellt werden. Welche Daten sind vorhanden? Wie sieht die IT Infrastruktur aus? Was passiert, wenn Daten gelöscht oder beschädigt werden? Wie teuer kann ein erfolgreicher Cyberangriff für das Unternehmen werden? Für jedes Unternehmen ist es ratsam, Schutz- und Sicherheitsmaßnahmen bei Digitalisierungsprozessen von Anfang an mit einzuplanen. Werden Prozesse bereits entsprechend den individuell notwendigen Sicherheitsaspekten entworfen, lassen sich auch nachträgliche teure Anpassungen oder notwendige Änderungen vermeiden. Eine erfolgreiche Digitalisierung und IT Sicherheit sollten Hand in Hand gehen oder wie es der Lagebericht zur IT-Sicherheit des Bundesamts für Sicherheit in der Informationstechnik (BSI) auf den Punkt bringt: Informationssicherheit ist die Voraussetzung für eine erfolgreiche Digitalisierung.

Wie sieht die Zukunft aus?

Abwarten ist keine Option: 40 Prozent der Unternehmen werden sich laut einer Studie von IMD Business School und CISCO Consulting Services im Jahre 2023 in einem veränderten Wettbewerbsumfeld wiederfinden.

Hieraus lässt sich folgern, dass es für viele Unternehmen in der Zukunft um die eigene Existenz gehen wird, wenn sie das Thema Digitalisierung ignorieren.

Das heißt, es besteht nicht die Frage „ob“ sondern „wann“ eine regulatorisch korrekte MES-Lösung in die Produktion eingeführt werden sollte. Wichtigste Voraussetzung ist eine Firmenkultur, in der alle Mitarbeiter von solch einem Projekt überzeugt werden. Vor allem für KMU wird die langfristige Existenz von der intelligenten Nutzung der vielfältigen IT-Angebote abhängen.

Zukünftig könnte sich ein Produktionsauftrag, vom Kunden ausgelöst, selbstständig durch die Wertschöpfungskette steuern. Dabei reserviert er Bearbeitungsschritte, Anlagen und Materialien und kontrolliert die Ausführung automatisch. Er erkennt drohende Verzögerungen der Lieferung, organisiert soweit möglich zusätzlich benötigte Kapazitäten und meldet unvermeidbare Verzögerungen direkt dem entsprechenden Kunden. Die verwendeten Produktionsanlagen tauschen untereinander Zeichnungen aus und organisieren ihre Auftragsreihenfolge genauso wie Wartungs- und Instandhaltungsbedarfe untereinander. Wenn diese Vision Wirklichkeit wird sprechen wir von Industrie 4.0. Auch wenn hier für viele KMU noch ein weiter Weg zu beschreiten ist, muss der erste Schritt gegangen werden, um überhaupt die Chance zu haben, das Ziel zu erreichen.

de_DE_formal
en_US de_DE_formal